What'd ya think of this Rogers Buddy Kit ??

I'm a Rogers lover. I'm not a Rogers expert. Some experts will correct any of my wrong assumptions about this drum set.

* These drums are worth that much money if it could be verified that Bernard Rich, himself, owned and played them at one time.

* The Powertone and Holiday mix and match may have been how they left the factory. But, this anomally makes their originality as a factory matched kit suspect to collectors with this kind of budget.

* Even with the wood Dynasonic, some hunting and patience would result in finding all the pieces for considerably less money than this listing wants.

* Waddaya think Rogers experts?

Powertone

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Nice authentic BR setup. However, don't think it was stated (perhaps implied) that they were used by the man himself. The kit is a Fullerton era set and at the time it was manufactured, BR was no longer associated with CBS and Rogers.

Is it worth the money? Hard to say. Even though the dyna is a FUllerton era drum, it would still bring a bundle by itself. Add in a factory correct 24" bass drum with the BR hardware configuration, the toms, and correct hardware, and you have a pricey kit. You don't see an original set up like that too often, regardless of era.

The listing did not imply that BR played or owned this kit. The point I made is that they are overpriced for what they are. The drums are a very nice kit. The Dynasonic is a real gem for folks who like Dynasonics. Personally, I found them to be more problematic (finicky) than I wanted to deal with. And, I not only played Rogers, I sold them, too. I began as a manusacturer's rep for Fender when the company was known as Fender/Rogers/Rhodes. So, I sold a ton of them.

Just realized that the statement in blue reminded me of the Sy Sperling Hair Club For Men commercials.