What's wrong with my backbeat?

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Quick as I can history. I have studied, college, and private. Anyway, my main grip has always been German match, using the Moller.
I know many of you know my story, so go to the last couple paragraphs, if so.
I used to gig regularly until a few years ago, right before my back went. I finally had a spinal fusion a little over a year ago.
I still can't do many of the things I once enjoyed. I was still able to play drums, dispite pain, and loss of feeling in my R foot.
I took care of my foot by really changing my technique, and most importantly, discovering Camco pedals are the best (imo)
Now, I work on my hands 45 min a day. I've got a good grip on my rudiments, I play them with dynamics, and play at various speeds.
I started learning how to record about 3 months ago. Briefly with the Yamaha EAD10, but went quickly to the Model 24.
What is going on with my backbeat? I do have to keep my snare volume down, as it overwhelms. Still, my stick should be lower, and that should fix things. I like the natural bounce off the head though, but it looks awful. If I play a quie 1/2 purdie style shuffle, my grace notes aren't going up, and down, but rather side to side.
Finally, my groove is all but gone. Occasionally, when I'm not in too much pain, or at rehearsal I'll catch it, but I'm not feeling it like I used to.
I'm not going to give up, but I've got a long way to go.
I'm hoping someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong, and exercises to fix it.

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
This should work. Just weak! I'm still pretty fluent on the pad?

Last edited:

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
It's more than just that (after watching again). I'm speeding up, slowing down. There's definitely something going on from my brain, to my limbs. Idk if I can overcome this

multijd

Very well Known Member
Reaction score