When playing a jazz swing, I can play the ride, hi hat and comp on snare alright; But if I try to incorporate the bass drum it instantly throws me off

bonecock

Reaction score
Sooo, title. I'm pretty new to jazz drums but I have definitely taken a step up from being complete mess, but now I try to toss in some bass drum and I just *stop* using the hi hat instinctively. What can I do to fix this?

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
get rock and roll out of your head 1st.

Bass drum in jazz is a felt thing; not need to mark bar lines (on the 1) every measure

Bass drum is going to be " walking" ....along
the whole deal is walking..
the whole beat..flowing..forward..not loud..forward..

The "1'" the strong 1234...is in your right hand..

the
small one-two-three-four or two-four is in your left foot

Your bass drum or left hand works off those two things still walking) ...sometimes accompanying ...sometimes countering.. sometimes all things...sometimes no things...sometimes taking-off...sometimes walking along with.
but it's a holistic entire forward Walk. (then you learn to reverse it move it sideways) but first get the forward motion ....all limbs walk

Last edited:

Seb77

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Coordination... you need to practise all combinations you want to play. In the beginning, there is no independence, only coordination, and your practsing takes it to a level that makes the limbs look, and sound, independent. (It just occurs to me that with ostinatos, you could add "automation" to the equation, but that's still only after practising a lot).

Take just the feet, there's both feet at once, or one at a time/both alternating. A very small exmaple, the three over two pattern is both L/R at once , then RLR: R/L - RLR- (or R/L-LRL- for the inversion).

David M Scott

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score