Where the lefties/southpaws at???

Zapruder1337

Reaction score
Im prolly gonna regret this post, oh well.....
IM A LEFTY who plays with their drum kit setup left handed. I honestly dont get why it's such a big deal? Ppl string guitars upside down to play lefty, and teachers they get lessons from dont make em play righty.
You know you'd think someone your paying for lessons who preaches being ambidextrous on the kit regardless wouldn't throw a hussy fit cuz you play lefty. Your the teacher, your supposed to be making the student get/feel comfortable with playing drums. I just dont get all fuzz about it honestly.

shuffle

DFO Star
Reaction score
Im a lefty.
I have to reverse everything.
Im self taught.
I even used a mirror to view progress.
Ive hosted a jam for 9 yrs,never a problem.
I dont see it as a fault ever.
Ask Collins or Morgansteen,etc.

bpaluzzi

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I haven't ever seen other people having a problem with someone playing left-handed, but it can definitely make life more difficult for the drummer themself. Any place that you're sharing drums becomes much more of an issue. Jam sessions are basically ruled out, kit share at gigs becomes an issue. And that's not including any of the issues with teaching materials, videos, etc. that are all geared towards righties.

I strongly encourage all of my students to try a right-handed kit, for those reasons. If they're adamant that they want to stay left handed, I'd let them, but I've never had that happen. I think the fact that I am left handed, but have always played on a right handed kit helps convince them.

SteveParadis

Reaction score