Who here has skipped/forgone learning doubles on the kick drum?

Thinkwriter

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to drumming, but I've a pretty good idea what type of drummer I want to be. About the kick doubles thing, I've kind of decided it's not for me. But I wanted to hear your thoughts.

Just a bit of background:
I've seen countless videos explaining different techniques like slide or heel-toe, etc. I find them beyond my capabilities. Perhaps it has something to do with fact I'm usually barefoot or wearing flip-flops (I actually just practice at home). Or it might be my pedals idk. That being said, I've been working on my singles for over 2 years now (just one exercise though done over and over) and I think it's going good certainly can boast of some precision where I land those.

Apart from my struggles figuring it out, I've also convinced myself that 32nd notes are not terribly much "better" than 16th notes. I tried experimenting with grooves/fills that call for doubles, and I found replacing them with singles do the job just fine in most cases. As a beginner, I don't even hear the doubles, go figure!

TLDR: Doubles on kick are lame, but most likely I'm a moron. Thoughts?

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
how I see it; It's a musical thing if you're not going to use them you're not going to use them. But in a pinch you may need them (or One...) to get you out of ( and in meter to) what your hands just did or are doing.

In essence that's what they are 'a pinch'. A pinch by the leg or foot however you like to look at it. They are a 'Pinch..
Now if you can imagine that you can do it. When and where ever you use it is another thing. It's just a pinch.
A tensing up of the bottom of the leg to execute. they're a pinch.

makinao

Reaction score