WHO MADE CAMCO'S SHELLS???

plexi69

Reaction score
Hello, I would like to know who made shells for Camco in the sixties? Did they make their own or were they made by Jasper? Thanks.

AaronLatos

spang spang a lang
Reaction score
I've heard Jasper in the 60s and Keller in the 70s... but I'm not an expert. DolFan is, and he'll be chiming in for sure momentarily. :D

Whoever built these things knew exactly what they were doing!

Purdie Shuffle

Quizat Haderach
Reaction score
Steve or Jolo will chime in but I think D-bum has it spot on. I have two 60's Camco and one late 50's George Way shells - all Jasper shells. Unique re-rings and bearing edges too for drums from that era.

John

plexi69

Reaction score
Thanks for the info. I will guess these are usually 3 ply when they have re-rings and interior sealant? Would those early shell be similar to what Gretsch was using?

TommyWells

Pro/Founder
Reaction score
Similar to Gretsch 3-ply shells, but Gretsch went to 6 ply, no re-rings and Camco stayed with their lay-up for a while longer. Paging DolFan........

AaronLatos

spang spang a lang
Reaction score
After the 3 ply, Camco went to 4 and then 6 ply with rings. Pretty sure that all happened Oaklawn era. Camco's transition from 3 ply w/ rings happened sometime in the mid 60s, wheras Gretsch did the switch roughly 57.

I'm pretty sure mine are 6 ply, but I haven't had them apart for any length of time to really check... been too busy playing the heck out of them since I got them to check. Mine, an Oaklawn kit, does have rings and interior sealant: I'm pretty sure ALL Camcos up until the LA era that were wrapped had white interiors no matter what (painted/lacquer finish drums had clear sealed interiors). To my knowledge, until Tama took over the Camco name (easily identified by the lugs, which have a different shape), ALL Camcos also had rerings.