Who plays (drums) and who doesn't?

Who plays (drums) and who doesn't?

• Total voters

Squirrel Man

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Saw a member in a thread suggest that there are some (or more than some) members here who don't play.

Just curious, if you're willing to state.

I have no predisposed judgments, can't speak for others though.

mydadisjr

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I’m a drummer I didn’t really find an answer that was valid for me so I’ll just say that I’m a drummer I also play other instruments, so I consider myself a musician.
Second that, bro.

I still practice 4-5 times a week on the kit (just because I love drums/drumming) but have very little patience anymore for bands/gigs/high volume/lousy pay. I go out and do solo guitar/singing gigs a few times a month where I am my own man, I perform for one hour and get paid pretty good.

TPC

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I essentially gave up gigging for a couple reasons. One, I play in an "original modern jazz" group. This is a niche market at best. Generally the music is too dissonant and chaotic for even traditional jazz fans. Two, the pay for a band where everyone in the place, save two music nerds, dislikes the sounds is VERY low. ;)

This is why I became a professional at something else, so I could let the music be completely free of restrictions.

That said, I play/practice every day, I write, lead a band (essentially the same group of oddballs for ten+ years), and produce DIY records at the rate of about one to two per year.

(I voted "tinkerer", but felt the need to explain further because I have a very different level of involvement than some of my friends who are "tinkerers", and just play the drums ocassionally.)

CC Cirillo

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I voted in two categories. There is me pre-Covid shut down of California, and now there is me post Covid shut down in California, which dissolved my three most active projects.

Add to this working through some health issues.