Why do we love cymbals so much??

stickmakeboom

Reaction score
So what got me thinking about this is that I'm a relatively new drummer (about 2 years on the kit) and I have a friend who's been drumming for roughly 20 years. He's actually in a band, while I am not currently. However, I seem to have a much greater appreciation for cymbal quality and sound than he does. He's been using the same relatively inexpensive cymbals for years, while I find myself lusting after ones that are way beyond my pay grade so-to-speak. When I talk to him about cymbals he seems to shrug his shoulders and not have much input on anything lol. I practice every day so I'm trying not to be the guy that thinks gear fixes everything. What gives??

Last edited:

mebeatee

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
So what got me thinking about this is that I'm a relatively new drummer (about 2 years on the kit) and I have a friend who's been drumming for roughly 20 years. He's actually in a band, while I am not currently. However, I seem to have a much greater appreciation for cymbal quality and sound and he does. He's been using the same relatively inexpensive cymbals for years, while I find myself lusting after cymbals way beyond my pay grade so-to-speak. When I talk to him about it he seems to shrug his shoulders and not have much input on anything lol. I practice every day so I'm trying not to be the guy that thinks gear fixes everything. What gives??
You’ve answered your own question...you’re still fine after two years...now imagine another 18 + yrs. of cymbal plonking.....what’s that you say...;)...what was that?...
The kinds of musics played plays a huge difference...do you folks listen to or play similar musics?
Some folks may also be myopic in their “palette“, although this at times can be used in a positive way...again depending on music and sounds required.
Now how about them snare drumz....!!!!!
bt

Pibroch

Reaction score