Why is my Mac being attacked by Adobe Flash on this site?

Treviso1

DFO Master
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
4,546
Reaction score
551
Location
Michigan
Why is my Mac being attacked by Adobe Flash on this site? It is telling me that I need to install an update when I, in fact, don't need to? If you accidentally or stupidly install it, it installs some sort of adware/spyware onto your computer. Anyone else having this issue? It is nonstop and incessant.
 

drummertom

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
2,521
Reaction score
220
Location
Boston
yeah, I started getting those messages the other day while using Firefox, which I switched to from Chrome after I had some issues staying logged in to this site. I have ad blocking/bot prevention in Chrome so have gone back to using that.
 

Nacci

DFO Veteran
Joined
Jul 25, 2015
Messages
2,491
Reaction score
977
Location
Roxbury, NH.
After 15 years of flawless Mac use we are now being hassassed by a Mac Clean up Pro pop up. I suspect the the delivery bot was a fraudulent Adobe Flash Player update download. I don’t know what the source of that malware was but I am not happy about it.
 
Last edited:

shiek_yerbouti

Very well Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
982
Reaction score
183
It happened to me today for the first time as well on my Mac desktop WTH?
 

Rick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
250
Reaction score
139
Location
Atlanta
It happens to me now almost every time I go to this forum on my Mac. I can use my phone, which is all I’m willing to do at this point to access this forum. It’s a shame because that limits how much I can read and post.

The first time this happened to me a few weeks ago, I actually fell for it because I had updated Flash from a pop up notification numerous times before. This one looked legit enough to fool me once. $79 later I got the malware removed from my Mac. Now I just immediately close my browser (Safari) when I get that pop up. But I’m going to another step further now and not even access this forum on my Mac until I know this issue is resolved.
 

Rick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
250
Reaction score
139
Location
Atlanta
Make sure your going into: https://drumforum.org and not into http://drumforum.org
Bookmark the secure one that way it automatically goes into that one everytime you come into the forum.
This has worked for me!
I just tried typing the https version and got the same pop up. I’m done with trying to access this forum in my Mac until I’m sure this issue is resolved.
 

speady1

Very well Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
720
Reaction score
189
Location
Georgetown, KY
My spyware continuously blocks it on my iMac, so I can read a post for 2 seconds, maximum, before the "Dangerous Malware Detected" pops up. It shouldn't be this difficult.
 

lrod1707

DFO Veteran
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
2,128
Reaction score
707
That seems to have worked! Thank you!
Honest to goodness...this site has become such a pain at times.
Glad it worked for you too. I don't know what the deal is with the site. Last month I had issues for about a week when I would try to login. It kept getting stuck. Then suddenly the issue just went away.
 

purist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
399
Reaction score
30
Location
CT
It happened to me this morning, and about 3 times in the past minute!

This is intolerable!

Changes address to https - so far, so good.

Thanks
 

lrod1707

DFO Veteran
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
2,128
Reaction score
707
I just tried typing the https version and got the same pop up. I’m done with trying to access this forum in my Mac until I’m sure this issue is resolved.
Sorry that didn't work for you! Which I had some other help to give. I would love to know who founded, owns, and maintains this site?
I've been on it for like 5 months but don't know any history about it. Come to think of it, like any forum you join, I just became part of the community and never even looked into that. I would like to know though.
 

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
7,735
Reaction score
936
Location
Pebble Beach, CA
Interesting - I am on a PC and when I just type in "drumforum.org" into the address bar (as I did before the latest website update), it now comes up as NOT secure.

So now after reading this thread, I just went up to the address bar and simply typed in "https://" in front of the above, and now it is secure with the little padlock symbol.

I wonder how I can make it the default secure mode without having to type in the "https://"????

***After googling, it looks like DFO has to set up or enable HTTPS also known as SSL so the default web page loaded up is https://www.drumforum.org
 

Rick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
250
Reaction score
139
Location
Atlanta
Sorry that didn't work for you! Which I had some other help to give. I would love to know who founded, owns, and maintains this site?
I've been on it for like 5 months but don't know any history about it. Come to think of it, like any forum you join, I just became part of the community and never even looked into that. I would like to know though.
Thanks. Actually, I decided to give it one more try with the https thing. Seems to be working fine now. I have that one saved as my bookmark and deleted the other. Hopefully that'll take care of it. Thanks again!
 

lrod1707

DFO Veteran
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
2,128
Reaction score
707
I wonder how I can make it the default secure mode without having to type in the "https://"????

***After googling, it looks like DFO has to set up or enable HTTPS also known as SSL so the default web page loaded up is https://www.drumforum.org
To make it default, just go into https://drumforum.org and bookmark it. It should then always go into the secure site when you click on the bookmark. I did this and it works every time.
About setting up SSL, that's why I previously posted asking about the ownership and maintenance of the website. It would be nice to know who does it.
 

blueshadow

Just Shuffling along
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2005
Messages
12,862
Reaction score
686
Location
North of Austin, Texas
I updated my bookmark, thanks.... I notice though that if I click on the dfo logo to get back home it redirects to a non secure version....I'll let Ben know maybe need to be redirected
 

idrum4fun

DFO Veteran
Joined
Aug 25, 2009
Messages
1,846
Reaction score
267
Location
southern California
I access DFO from both my desktop computers running Windows 7 and my laptop running Windows 10. I use Firefox exclusively and have not had any issues!

-Mark
 


Top