Wuhan Cymbals

Tigerdrummer

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
All the corona virus talk made me think of Wuhan. Bit in a different context. Are Wuhan cymbals any good? JUst curious about the brand given its price point

Attachments

jtpaistegeist

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I loathe them. For some reason I bought several, but they never worked for me. For some, they are the pinnacle of cymbal making.

Yeah they are inexpensive, and sound that way. I suppose some of us like that in a China. I prefer pretty sounding effects like Paiste Sigs, Sabian HHX.

Old Dog

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Experiment with a cheaper splash, see what you think. I actually like their small cymbals. I have a couple splashes and a 12" china. I have NO experience with anything bigger.

TheMattJones88

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I always liked their splashes and chinas. They have a lot of attack and then get right out of the way, which is exactly what I want on both of those types of cymbals.

jtpaistegeist

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Type "wuhan" into the search box and you find hundreds of results and opinions

You're aware Wuhan makes other cymbal models besides Chinas right?
Yes, used to work at a shop that was a dealer for them. Tried everything from 8" to gongs. I don't mean to offend anyone, I know Wuhan has a rabid fan base (not saying you are one). Just not for me personally, just like wood hoops on toms, not for me.

Mcjnic

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
The early Wuhan “western” cymbals Rides and Crashes were actually pretty darn good. Excellent giving feel on the rides and super nice warm crashes.
But they did a remodel thing way back and I’ve never really liked any of them since.
The chinas and splashes will always be cool, though.

Beefsurgeon

Reaction score
All the corona virus talk made me think of Wuhan. Bit in a different context. Are Wuhan cymbals any good? JUst curious about the brand given its price point