Your Favorite Exercises

ZYC

Reaction score
I'm a high school student enrolled in band who just flew right out of the wind category this past year and landed in the percussion zone. I have very little experience, and I came to DFO to learn as much as I can from people whose main passion is drumming. That being said, I'm working on all of the fundamentals right now. I want my foundation to be as solid as it can possibly be, and I'm focusing on exercises to help me develop things like consistency, musicality, an internal metronome, ambidexterity, and endurance.

I wanted to ask what helped some of you get your start. Which exercise came to your rescue when you were trying to get the lag out of your weak hand? What's your go-to before a gig? Are there any exercises you wish you knew about when you were starting? I would really appreciate some help with this.

I know there are thousands of videos on YouTube about playing exercises, but I'd rather ask around here for some advice before digging into hours of footage.

Thank you!
-ZYC

dave.robertson

Reaction score
OK. I wish this one method book was available when I started out.

But the author was not even born yet. There are progressions of GREAT exercises in there. And it is pretty cheap considering you can work out of it for years.

[SIZE=11pt]Stick Technique, by Bill Bachman[/SIZE]

[SIZE=11pt]PS ...You can search YT for video of Bachman and you will find plenty. But the ones I found were not viable alternatives to this book, in my opinion. Send me a PM if you want more of my opinion. That said, I am sure you will get good or better suggestions from others. This is just my take on it. Not the only take on it. :)[/SIZE]

Tuckerboy

Reaction score