Your Favorite Jazz Hi-Hats?

tbird8450

Reaction score
My background is mostly rock, but over the past few months I've been going all-in on developing my jazz skills. I'm mostly into acoustic, smoky jazz club and bop type material more than big band and new wave.

I'm pretty well set on rides and crashes. I currently use 15" Paiste 2002 SE hats, which I absolutely love for rock and are actually serviceable for jazz if you work them the right way, but I'd like to get a jazz-specific set.

I'd like something quick, crisp, and on the lighter side, that are nuanced enough for intricate work during lower-volume situations, and maintain a nice sizzle even down low. The biggest downfall of the 2002s is that when the volume goes down, the sizzle devolves into clankiness.

I haven't really auditioned much yet as there's just so much out there - so where should I start? My ride / crash setup consists of Paiste, Zildjian, Meinl, and Istanbul, so clearly brand isn't a key concern. Thanks!

marc3k

Reaction score
I use 15" Agop 30th Anniversary for piano trio. They are quite light and have a really nice sound to me. However, they are not very "quick" and for a loud "chick" I need to tilt the bottom cymbal a bit - but for me this no issue.
I also have some Agop 15" Om hihats, which have a bit a higher sound and are maybe a bit quicker. I have some older 14" signature, but they are heavier and seem quite loud.

saturnresearch

Reaction score