Your most impulsive drum related purchase

paul

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
1. In the early 70's I was on a gig in Fort Smith, Arkansas, and ran across a used Zildjian tam-tam in a music store. It was cheap, and it was the 70's. A few years later I fabricated a stand from mic stand weights and Atlas cymbal stands, and played it with my hard rock band. When I started playing again I bought a real stand for it, and have used it on gigs twice in the last 18 years.

2. Late 70's gig with the aforementioned rock band on the road in Oklahoma when I found an 18" china in a hock shop. It was cheap, and I'm a Cobham fan. My band hated it, and I loved it, and broke it withing a couple of years. Made me very sad.

3. Late one night about a decade ago, while in an intoxicated state I bought an 18" Zildjian China Trash on ebay for cheap. If I had looked at the pictures more closely I'd have realized that it was cheap because it had two repaired cracks, with chunks out of the cymbal. I hid it from myself for several years, ashamed of my stupidity. 5-6 years on I was playing in a church band and decided to donate a china to the church (mainly so I could play it with the group), and took that cymbal and an 18" Wuhan to rehearsal, where I alternated between them on the songs of the day and let the band vote. They picked the cut up Zildjian, and they were right. It eventually cracked again, but it sang for a good while.

I've been lucky with impulse buys, I guess. I usually err when I put a lot of thought into a purchase. Maybe that's a clue. B)

Iristone

Reaction score
A Premier 2000 still on the way. HUGE 67% holiday discount, $200 total, half of which is the international shipping. And I'm thinking of impulse buying a Rokton electronic drum kit right now. :bom:

Tornado

DFO Veteran
Reaction score