Zickos officially gone

Zickosman

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I don't know how long this has been up, but I thought I'd share. I know most of you don't know about these drums, but I do. I've been playing them since 1973 and I love mine.

"Since the late 1960s, we've been putting our hearts, our minds and what often seemed like our very souls into manufacturing some of the finest sounding drums available anywhere.

But now, due largely to continuing family obligations, we've made the decision to cease making our beloved drums. While it wasn't easy coming to that conclusion, it was one that needed to be done.

In recent years, we have been approached occasionally by various manufacturers or individuals who wanted to purchase the company and continue the Zickos brand. We were definitely flattered, but frankly, both Bill Zickos and myself were never really confident that they would be able to continue making the drums they way we felt they should be made.

So, instead, we preferred winding down our operations and doing the equivalent of riding off into the sunset with our heads held high.

Effective immediately, we will not be accepting orders for new drums.

To those countless drummers out there who have been almost like family to us, we express our deep-felt thanks for letting us into their lives. And to all of you we say, live in peace, always try to do the right thing and, if you're going to do something, do it well.

John Brazelton

President
Zickos Drum Company"

mlayton

Night Creature
Reaction score
sad stuff indeed. everything comes to an end i guess. doesnt make it feel any better though.

mike

DolFan54

Gum Flapping Idiot
Reaction score
Ending it on their own terms, I like it although sad that Zickos will no longer be with us.

Speedy Keen

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I remember this, but not all of it extremely clearly. I grew up about 200 miles from where Zickos was built. Was probably about 12 or 13