Zildjian 21" ride 60s short stamp puzzle...

Controls Guy

Reaction score
I'm new at this so pardon ignorance on posting etiquette.

I recently purchased some 1960's Zildjian cymbals off Reverb to go with my early 70's Slingerland COW set. I bought a set of 14" hi hats, a 16" crash and a 21" ride. They arrived and I was curious about the stamps to see if they were in fact from the 60's. The stamps all seem to check out, though I'm no expert, but the 21" ride is somewhat of an enigma. The add said it was from the late 50's, the stamp looks to me like a 60's short stamp but once again I'm no expert. I have a 20" ride from my other drum set and it has a 60's tall stamp and the 2 cymbals are totally different. So I started looking for answers on the internet and just got more confused. None of the examples that I found seem to match up with this cymbal. I'm hoping someone can help me with this puzzle. I have attached pictures.

Thanks

Attachments

cymbal.wiki

Reaction score
What jp said. Obvious 60s stamp. BTW the 60s stamp was in regular factory use until about 1975. Both short and tall versions. Unfortunately we're stuck with a slightly misleading name. We're also stuck with beliefs that the 60s short was early 60s and the 60s tall was later 60s. I put this down to overenthusiastic interpretation based on inadequate samples and analysis back in the early 2000s when the original timeline research was done. Now that we have lots more evidence we know that the 60s short and 60s tall could have been in use in the factory on the same day.

But never mind the trademark stamp, what about the rest of the cymbal?

hammering: obvious later 60s style with smaller hammer face and quite regular in spacing around those concentric rings. The image of the bottom isn't quite clear enough for me to be sure but I suspect what you are seeing there is print through from the top hammering.